Project Team Structure

The AIT- LIT Consortium appointed Prof Tom Collins as facilitator to the TU project. Dr Niall Seery (AIT) and Terry Twomey (LIT) were appointed as project directors in January 2020. The TU Project Team reports to a Management Steering Group led by Presidents of AIT and LIT Prof Ciarán Ó Catháin and Prof Vincent Cunnane.

AIT and LIT's Executive Management Teams have formed a Joint Management Steering Group, and the Governing Bodies of both institutes have formed a Joint Governing Bodies Steering Group. These structures reflect interests across the spectrum of institutional life.

The Joint TU Project Team will develop and empower staff-led project teams to address specific work packages aimed at delivering the TU.

The AIT - LIT Consortium aims to develop a new unique university with a strengthened regional focus and a national and international outlook, that will benefit our students, staff and the communities we serve.

Prof Tom Collins is the facilitator for the AIT - LIT Consortium. He has an extensive background in higher education and most recently was chair of the governing body of DIT, IT Blanchardstown, and IT Tallaght during their merger into Technological University Dublin.

Presidents of AIT and LIT Prof Ciarán Ó Catháin and Prof Vincent Cunnane lead the AIT - LIT Consortium project team and the Joint Management Steering Group as project sponsors.

The Project Directors, Dr Niall Seery and Terry Twomey, will develop the project's goals and objectives as part of our application for TU designation.


Prof Tom Collins
AIT - LIT Project Facilitator
Prof Ciarán Ó Catháin
President, AIT
Prof Vincent Cunnane
President, LIT
Dr Niall Seery
AIT - LIT Consortium Project Director
Terry Twomey
AIT - LIT Consortium Project Director

Latest News & Events